The Oshana Regional Council was established with effect from 31 August 1992 under Section 2 (1) of the Regional Councils Act, 1992 (Act 22 of 1992).


The mandate of Oshana Regional Council is to Plan, Administer and Manage the Socio-economic Development of the Region, and to establish Settlement Areas as their Local Authority


Our vision is to be a leading region in the provision of socio-economic development and improved quality of life for inhabitants


Oshana Regional Council is committed to govern, plan, and coordinate the implementation of social economic development programmes for sustainable development and improvement of the living standards of the inhabitants.


  • Integrity: The quality of being honest and having strong moral principles. We will operate under the auspice of integrity, behaves ethically and do the right thing, even behind closed doors.
  • Transparency:We will be open to public scrutiny in all our actions taken
  • Inclusiveness:We ensure that our actions include all groups of people and treat them fairly and equally
  • Accountability:Being answerable to the people we serve
  • Innovative:To come up with new ideas, methods and techniques for serving our clients
  • Responsiveness:To act promptly and effectively to community needs. An institution that responds to its clients and stakeholders within a reasonable time frame


Oshana Region is headed by the Regional Governor representing the office of the President and all government institutions. The region consist of eleven (11) political constituencies represented by Regional Councilors who among themselves elect the Chairperson of the Regional Council. At the local level, there are three (3) Local Authorities namely, Ondangwa, Ongwediva and Oshakati. Each local authority is represented by Local Authority Councilors, who among themselves elect a Mayor of the town. In addition, there are three (3) traditional authorities namely; Uukwambi, Ondonga and Oukwanyama that serve as advisors on communal land and customary matters.