Oshana Region is located in the central north of Namibia.  To the north, the region is bordered by the Ohangwena Region, to the east it shares a common border with Oshikoto Region, to the south, the region borders onto the Kunene Region while the Omusati Region borders to the west. The Region has a surface of 8653 km2, including a portion of the Etosha National Park where Okaukuejo Rest Camp is situated.

According to the National census report of 2011; Oshana Region has a population of 176,674 of which 96, 559 are female and 80, 115 are male. The population annual growth rate is 0.9 percent. 55% of the population lived in the rural areas while 45% lived in the urban areas.

The northern portion of the region, inclusive of the three urban centres of Oshakati, Ongwediva, and Ondangwa is densely populated as opposed to the central part of the region which is sparsely populated and characterized by subsistence farming. English is the official language while the predominantly spoken language in the region is Oshiwambo. Other languages such as Afrikaans, Portuguese and other Namibian languages are sparsely spoken.

The extremely flat topography of the Oshana Region is characterized by the Oshana system, which dominates the central area.  This is a complex ephemeral system of broad, shallow, vegetated channels that flows south out of Angola after good rains, meandering through the sandy soils and mostly ending in large pans.

The largest system, the Cuvelai, reaches the vast grassland of the Ombuga, where the channels form a permanent serpentine series of saline lakes, including Lake Oponono.  After good rains the Ekuma, Omulonga Gwashigambo and Nipele river channels reaches the Etosha Pan.  The southern portion of Oshana region is an extensive savannah plain stretching as far as the Etosha Pan


Oshana Region is headed by the Regional Governor representing the office of the President and all government institutions. The region consist of eleven (11) political constituencies represented by Regional Councilors who among themselves elect the Chairperson of the Regional Council. At the local level, there are three (3) Local Authorities namely, Ondangwa, Ongwediva and Oshakati. Each local authority is represented by Local Authority Councilors, who among themselves elect a Mayor of the town.

In addition, there are three (3) traditional authorities namely; Uukwambi, Ondonga and Oukwanyama that serve as advisors on communal land and customary matters.